Welcome to Jordan!

I am late writing about my adventures here. I left in August for a 4 month adventure to Jordan! Why? I am on an archaeology dig! Two of them actually. That us why I haven’t posted anything. I was too busy with too little Internet. But now I have zain 3G on my iPhone so I have good coverage. It’s time to start posting.

I will attempt to backtrack but first let me give you an overview. I so fat have been chased by a scorpion, shot at by some school kids (the guns weren’t lethal but still were painful), have made friends with Bedouin tent dwellers and locals from a Christian village, all the middle school boys know my name and try to follow me around, I have had marriage offers and am being pursued by a family to live on a farm in the lowest hottest place on earth, ate goat sheep and gazelle, twisted an ankle and was impaled by a cactus, found an iron age figurine of an animal butt, visited a friend I met on my blog who happened to live in my village, swam in the dead sea, got a free “tour” of a batt cave underneath Jerash, made apple pie using no measurements, picked up a hitchhiker, and have had some of the greatest moments of my life. What would you like to hear about first?

7 comments on “Welcome to Jordan!

  1. I didn’t know that you wrote in your blog while you were in Smakieh 🙂 Less than half an hour, I arrived at your blog after searching google images for “balua jordan”. Immediately, I thought that I found a “new” blog that “Adrienee” for one reason or another didn’t tell me about! 🙂 🙂 Well, I guess I should know better!

    “visited a friend I met on my blog who happened to live in my village”… His blog? His village?

    Or, with all of these marriage offers, you consider yourself to be from Smakieh?

    • HAHAHA! You have a good point! I loved that village! When I lived in the village in Ma’an, I told them that I was from a village in Karak 😉 By the way, I have a beautiful jar of Smakieh olives and two jars of olive oil from the village as well 😀 so maybe that means that I am from the village after all?

      • You “have a beautiful jar of Smakieh olives and two jars of olive oil from the village as well so maybe that means that I am from the village after all?”… To be frank with you, that means that the trees where these olives were cultivated are from Smakieh! 😉 😉

        An Arabic proverb says, “MAN #ASHAR Al-Goom Arba’aeen Youm, Sar menohom wa Fehom”…. “He who lives with a group of people for fourty days, becomes one of them”… How long have you stayed in Smakieh?

What do you think?

